Joeys at Home – With Charlie Wall

Year 7 boarder Charlie Wall, shares with us an insight as to how he handled continuing to learn from home.

Name: Charlie Wall
Favourite subject: History because my teacher is great, and it is a fascinating subject to learn.
Favourite sport: Rugby, because of how fun it is to play, and it is a great way to connect with your mates.
Favourite meal at school: Chicken Schnitzel or Sunday breakfast.

What did you miss most about being at Joeys? Probably just having my mates with me and also being a part of the Joeys family. 

In hindsight, what did you take for granted before the lockdown? Mostly the workload, I thought that the teachers couldn’t keep up with us when doing our work but it was the other way around, they were firing work at us like there was no tomorrow, but I pushed through.

What have you learnt about yourself, through Offsite learning? I can sometimes get easily distracted by the things going on at home, and that when I really knuckle down, the work goes really quickly and I finish early.

How have you maintained your focus and motivation whilst learning offsite? Probably thinking that when COVID-19 is over, I can come back to joeys and eventually play rugby.

What advice would you pass on to a boy in Years 7 and 8? Stay occupied while you are not in class, by doing sport and extra things that you enjoy.

Favourite meal you have had at home? A fillet steak.

What has been your favourite part of continuing to learn from home? Being at home where I can see my family each day and night.

What personal traits will you better utilise when you return to Joeys? Work as hard as I can and have heaps of fun. Enjoy the gift my parents have given me of coming to joeys.

What part of your normal day are you missing the most? All of the farm jobs, like feeding the dogs, milking the cow, feeding the chooks, and being free to do anything I want after class.

What does being a ‘Joeys Boy’ mean to you? Being a respectable and caring bloke who strives to achieve well and never gives up.